Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
IGDA Student SIG News
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (33) posts »
 

AMA #20: Ed Magnin, Director of Development at Magnin & Associates

Posted By Livio De La Cruz, Monday, April 9, 2018

AMA #20: Ed Magnin, Director of Development at Magnin & Associates

Ed Magnin has been working in the game industry for the past 35+ years. Earlier in his career he worked for some of the top game developers of their day – MicroProse, Cinemaware, Virgin Games, and Park Place Productions. Then in 1993, he founded Magnin & Associates and has focused on handheld games ever since -- Nintendo Game Boy and DS, then iOS, Android and Windows games.

Location: The IGDA Student SIG Discord Server, on the #ask-me-anything channel for text, and the 🔊AMA Voice channel for voice chat. Both channels can be found under the "Event Channels" category.

Date & Time: Tuesday, April 17th at 9:00am CDT, and the event will last for one hour.

Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Tuesday 4:00am HST (Honolulu)
  • Tuesday 7:00am PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Tuesday 9:00am CST (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Tuesday 10:00am EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Tuesday 3:00pm GMT (London)
  • Tuesday 4:00pm CET (Sweden)
  • Tuesday 5:00pm EET (Istanbul)
  • Tuesday 7:30pm IST (Mumbai)
  • Tuesday 10:00pm PHT (Manila)
  • Tuesday 11:00pm JST (Tokyo)
  • Wednesday 12:00am AEDT (Sydney)

What is an AMA?

AMA stands for "Ask Me Anything." It's a format for hosting online discussions, where the audience asks questions of the guest speaker during a set amount of time. The format became popular on Reddit, but we hold our AMAs on our community Discord server.

To participate in an AMA, simply log into our server during the scheduled time and post questions under the #ask-me-anything channel. If the speaker has agreed to do a voice chat, we'll also ask you to join the 🔊AMA-Voice voice-chat channel. If you know you can't be online for a particular AMA, feel free to post your question on the channel during the days leading up to the event.

We try to schedule each AMA during different times of the day in order to accommodate for different timezones. So if one AMA is scheduled at an inconvenient time, the next one might be scheduled at a better time for you.

Sign Up to Speak at a Future AMA

If you're a professional or academic who's interested in doing an AMA about your career, feel free to contact us at students@IGDA.org. Also, feel free to contact us If you're interested in volunteering for the IGDA Student SIG in general. We're always looking for more help!

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
more Calendar

4/21/2018
Student SIG AMA #21: Zuoming Shi, Software Development Engineer at Microsoft's Graphics Drivers Team

4/24/2018 » 4/25/2018
QUO VADIS 2018

Studio Affiliates

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal