Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
IGDA Student SIG News
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (49) posts »
 

AMA #18: Fernando Reyes Medina, Technical Designer at 343 Industries

Posted By Livio De La Cruz, Monday, April 2, 2018

AMA #18: Fernando Reyes Medina, Technical Designer at 343 Industries

Fernando works on Halo's multiplayer team. He was born and raised in Mexico City, he graduated with a computer science degree from Tecnologico de Monterrey. Fernando is the founder of Bee Collective, a non-profit game studio focused on creating interactive broadcasting games with 100% of the revenue going to charity. As one of the leads of Xbox’s Latinx in Gaming, Fernando organizes social and professional events that allow members of the Latinx community to break into the game industry and succeed. He believes in the true democratization of Gaming, where everyone has a game that talks to them and everyone is empowered to create their own games.

Location: The IGDA Student SIG Discord Server, on the #ask-me-anything channel for text, and the 🔊AMA Voice channel for voice chat. Both channels can be found under the "Event Channels" category.

Date & Time: Thursday, April 5th at 12:30pm PST, and the event will last for one hour.

Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

Other timezones are listed below for reference:

  • Thursday 9:30am HST (Honolulu)
  • Thursday 12:30pm PST (Vancouver, Seattle, Los Angeles)
  • Thursday 2:30pm CST (Mexico City, Houston)
  • Thursday 3:30pm EST (New York, Toronto, Atlanta)
  • Thursday 8:30pm GMT (London)
  • Thursday 9:30pm CET (Sweden)
  • Thursday 10:30pm EET (Istanbul)
  • Friday 1:00am IST (Mumbai)
  • Friday 3:30am PHT (Manila)
  • Friday 4:30am JST (Tokyo)
  • Friday 5:30am AEDT (Sydney)

What is an AMA?

AMA stands for "Ask Me Anything." It's a format for hosting online discussions, where the audience asks questions of the guest speaker during a set amount of time. The format became popular on Reddit, but we hold our AMAs on our community Discord server.

To participate in an AMA, simply log into our server during the scheduled time and post questions under the #ask-me-anything channel. If the speaker has agreed to do a voice chat, we'll also ask you to join the 🔊AMA-Voice voice-chat channel. If you know you can't be online for a particular AMA, feel free to post your question on the channel during the days leading up to the event.

We try to schedule each AMA during different times of the day in order to accommodate for different timezones. So if one AMA is scheduled at an inconvenient time, the next one might be scheduled at a better time for you.

Sign Up to Speak at a Future AMA

If you're a professional or academic who's interested in doing an AMA about your career, feel free to contact us at students@IGDA.org. Also, feel free to contact us If you're interested in volunteering for the IGDA Student SIG in general. We're always looking for more help!

Tags:  AMA  students 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
more Calendar

9/21/2018 » 9/22/2018
VR/AR Global Summit

9/26/2018 » 9/27/2018
Game UX Summit 2018

Studio Affiliates

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal